LONGER RUNS, GWR, TOOOO TIRED!!!!!!

Yes, I know its been over a month since my last outing in here but there is so much going on and the time needs to be right as well!! But now I am back and the next installment is about to begin, so sit down and strap in cos here we go!!!!!!!

 

Sooooo since the last blog a lot has happened, I continued with the gym even though my PT was away on holiday. I had the list of things to do so still managed the whole routine, I actually found it a little bit easier and got through it, (still swearing like never before but I got there) for the routine just check the last blog, I did the same thing but without my PT who I still think is trying to kill me šŸ¤£šŸ˜‚šŸ¤£šŸ˜‚šŸ¤£šŸ˜‚. After that I went back to running in the road again, it had been a while so thought it would be a good idea. I put on the running stuff and stepped outside, no real plan but hey who needs one of those!!!?? Now using the Zombie app I have to help keep me running (I am sooo obsessed with Zom’s), I had finished the 1st series of my own personal Walking Dead (other zombie programmes are available) and before I could go on to series 2 the app advises to do the race’s attached before moving on!! 2 5k’s, 2 10k’s and 15k’s well whats a guy to do, I hit start of the 1st 5k and away I went. Zom’s bloody everywhere and chasing and seemingly I am on the hunt for some building which gives secrets on patient 0 and a possible end to the Zombie Apocalypse, it really does help keep you going and simply the greatest running app I have ever found, Ā£15 a year to be a member whats not to like!!!! As I am running my old 5k route I get to thinking that I should probably do the second 5k race as I can do 10k and need to build my self up to 21k (yep a half marathon!!!). So instead of finishing up like I would normally do I carried on down to a second fave running area and just as I arrived the 1st 5k was over, I was still alive, the undead hadn’t managed to catch me and infect me, so lets keep moving get that second 5k race going and make it a 10k!!!!!!

 

This time I was running for the rival Township, one that had attacked me during previous runs. They to had figured out a cure might just be at this mansion and were heading that way when they were surrounded by Zom’s and we had to get away, the chase was back on. With this I was beginning to think that 10k my not be enough for me and I may well just keep going, I still had my little American in my ear also telling to run a while then walk periodically and it felt great as I was running further than before and recovering well to. I felt confident and happy with how everything was going, eventually the little American told me that he was done and I could cool down pffffttt what does he know. I kept going as the Zom’s were still after me as I passed the 10k mark, I couldn’t stop, who wants to be part of the Undead just wandering about doing nothing but actively rotting as you do, the mission wasn’t complete either and that was just no good!!! As I passed 7 miles the mission ended and safety was found and I was 1 mile from home so started to head back by the time I had got back there I crossed 8 miles and thought that would be a good place to stop. Now I was very proud of myself, that was the furthest I had ever run……..like ever, ever!!!! I felt good, nothing hurt too much and I thought maybe I could have carried on a little bit more but for today this will do. My mind quickly moved on to something else that was coming up, which I have already mentioned in this today.

 

On the 15th October 2017 I will be doing my first ever Half Marathon, when I take on the Great West Run (GWR) in the city I grew up in Exeter!! So I need to add another 5 miles to my running distance, shouldn’t be to hard its just another 5k and a bit, I can do that surely!!?? Well at this point 8 miles is still the longest distance I have run, twice now I have managed that distance and felt good and didn’t seem to have any real issues, usual aches and pains and some stiffness the next day but nothing much else. I am now confident that I can do the half marathon in 1 weeks time, I am not looming at my time just completing the distance, as its my 1st one. The scary fact of this though is once I am done (as long as I DO finish) I have 1 major part of the challenge to go and I have to do a Full 26.2 mile Marathon at some point next year!!!!!! Up until recently the GWR was just something I dropped in to conversations when asked how it was all going etc, well.then I got THE envelope, it was the envelope containing the details of the day, course route and most importantly, my race number!!!!!! 1884, that’s my number a bit close to a certain number of a football club rivals year of birth, at that point it got extremely real. Now I k ow I am running it and have checked out the route in detail to see where I will be going, which bits are flat and which bits are those sneaky little buggers HILLS!!! I don’t know why but when my legs meet a hill they look up at me and say “nope not for me” and stop wanting to move!!!! No matter how much I try to train on hills or use inclines on a treadmill I just can’t seem to over come this nemesis of mine!!!

 

As the GWR is in Exeter a visit has been planned to the Hospice where my brother spent his final hours, as well as a few respite days. Not only where they a great help to my brother during that dark time they are also a massive supporter of what I am doing with this challenge and have been in contact, periodically, as I have gone along. It will be good to meet the people behind the emails and maybe even some of the people who gave their time and care for my brother. There will be more on Ricky as I go along but that’s for another time, for now just the time being I will focus on this meeting and the run before going there.

 

I do need to get my energy levels back up though, I have been majorly tired recently and my appetite for anything has diminished a little. Doing those 2 8 mile runs did really help perk me up a bit. I think due to this being a very busy time for me and my Partner, as we plan out wedding and put the finishing touches to it (only a month to go now!!) the stresses that bring with juggling money to pay for this that and the other lol!!!! On top of that I am working a lot of extra shift, 144 extra hours last month alone, so finding the time to get out the door and run is a challenge in its self, let alone the tiredness creeping in on top!!

I also had my stag do in that time as well, for now I will just say that Amsterdam stole a bit of my soul on that weekend away but what am amazing time it was!! I may just do a blog on its own explaining what went on then…..or maybe somethings are just best kept secret, as they say what happens in the Dam stays in the Dam lol!! (Makes it sound like all sorts happened but it really didn’t šŸ˜‚šŸ¤£šŸ˜‚šŸ¤£šŸ˜‚)

 

So there it is, part 3 of 4 is about to be undertaken and I am a mixture of excited and scared about this one, I know I can do this and will complete the distance but that doesn’t stop me thinking I may need an Ambulance at the end lol, so come back soon and I will tell you all about it and how I felt after. There will be more on my brother as well and how that effected not only me but my family too.

 

Please, if you can, donate to my challenge and help me IMG_20171004_144703_259reach the goal I have set. I would really lime to raise Ā£10,000 to split between 2 causes close to me and my family. Hospiscare and the ICU Department at Derriford Hospital in Plymouth. You can help me get there by donating at http://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/2yrsrunning78k

Every little helps, I keep saying if I could get 10,000 people to donate just Ā£1 each then im there. So not only am I asking you to donate but also, if you can, share my page, my challenge or even this blog and help me spread the word as far as we can together. Thank you so so much for taking an interest and keep coming back to see how its going, either you like what I write or are just a bit weird lol, either way I like it and again thank you.

Keep smilin’

Laters

Leave a comment